Friday, July 22, 2016

[Blog Tour] Early Review: How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather

Title: How to Hang a Witch
Author: Adriana Mather 
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal
Series: How to Hang a Witch # 1

Hardcover, 368 Pages
Publication: July 26, 2016 by Knopf Books for Young Readers

Source: I received a review copy from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.

Pre-Order|Amazon|B&N|
Salem, Massachusetts is the site of the infamous witch trials and the new home of Samantha Mather. Recently transplanted from New York City, Sam and her stepmother are not exactly welcomed with open arms. Sam is the descendant of Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for those trials and almost immediately, she becomes the enemy of a group of girls who call themselves The Descendants. And guess who their ancestors were?

If dealing with that weren't enough, Sam also comes face to face with a real live (well technically dead) ghost. A handsome, angry ghost who wants Sam to stop touching his stuff. But soon Sam discovers she is at the center of a centuries old curse affecting anyone with ties to the trials. Sam must come to terms with the ghost and find a way to work with the Descendants to stop a deadly cycle that has been going on since the first accused witch was hanged. If any town should have learned its lesson, it's Salem. But history may be about to repeat itself.

Wow, How to Hang a Witch took me completely by surprise! What initially drew me to the book was the author herself, being a descendant of the infamous Cotton Mather. I think everyone knows of the Salem Witch Trials. I clearly remember learning about it during history class in junior year and have always been fascinated by the history and tales about witches in general. When I started this book, I didn’t know what to expect. I mean, the author named the main heroine as a Mather and here I thought she was being narcissistic. But I was so wrong. Mather used her family history to spin one of the most intriguing stories I’ve ever read relating to the Salem Witch Trials. Mather expertly weaves Salem’s history with high school to create a modern-day witch hunt; with just the right amount of action, suspense, humor, creepiness and a touch of supernatural to keep readers on the edge of their seats and guessing at every turn.

Within the first page I knew I was going to like Sam. Sam is pretty much like any normal 15/16-year-old but due to some unfortunate incidents growing up, she puts up walls and people at a distance. It’s hard not to be cynical and standoffish when one is blamed for other’s misfortunes. So why do I like her? Because though the world keeps dealing her bad hands, instead of sulking in a corner pitying herself; she pushes back. These bad event did nothing but build and shaped her character/personality which is a strong, brave and snarky girl that doesn’t back down from anyone. What I liked about Sam was that she never let the bullies get the better of her. Her classmates, the entire school and town was all but ready to run her out of Salem but even when the odds were stacked against her, literally like 100 to 1, Sam continued to fight. Even if it meant putting herself directly in the path of danger to save others.

My favorite part is Mather’s storytelling. I was so engrossed in the story and the characters that time seemed to fly by. The story was beautifully written and well thought out. The mystery kept me constantly guessing and there were so many twist and turns that I lost count. Also, don’t be fooled by the light paranormal factor because there’s definitely that creepy icky feeling going on that literally gave me goosebumps! And seriously, I rarely get scared while reading.

It’s hard to believe that this is Mather’s debut book because she writes as if she’s been doing it for years. This book is pitched as a blend of Conversion and Mean Girls, which I find very appropriate. But while reading How to Hang a Witch, I kind of got that nostalgic vibe of the 90’s The Craft! I’ve always liked that movie and found some parts very reminiscent of it. If you’re looking for a fresh and engaging summer read, I highly suggest Mather’s How to Hang a Witch! It has a little bit of everything for everyone! It's a debut not to be missed. According to Goodreads this is a start of a new series which delights me to no end! Mather is an up and coming author to watch and I can't to see what she does next!












ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Adriana Mather is the 12th generation of Mathers in America, and as such her family has their fingers in many of its historical pies – the Mayflower, the Salem Witch Trials, the Titanic, the Revolutionary War, and the wearing of curly white wigs. Also, Adriana co-owns a production company, Zombot Pictures, in LA that has made three feature films in three years. Her first acting scene in a film ever was with Danny Glover, and she was terrified she would mess it up. In addition, her favorite food is pizza and she has too many cats. 

Monday, July 18, 2016

Red Queen by Christina Henry + Giveaway

Title: Red Queen
Author: Christina Henry
Genre: Dystopian-Fantasy
Series:The Chronicles of Alice #2

Trade Paperback, 304 Pages
Publication: July 12, 2016 by Ace

Source: I received a review copy from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.

Buy|Amazon|B&N|

The land outside of the Old City was supposed to be green, lush, hopeful. A place where Alice could finally rest, no longer the plaything of the Rabbit, the pawn of Cheshire, or the prey of the Jabberwocky. But the verdant fields are nothing but ash—and hope is nowhere to be found.

Still, Alice and Hatcher are on a mission to find his daughter, a quest they will not forsake even as it takes them deep into the clutches of the mad White Queen and her goblin or into the realm of the twisted and cruel Black King.

The pieces are set and the game has already begun. Each move brings Alice closer to her destiny. But, to win, she will need to harness her newfound abilities and ally herself with someone even more powerful—the mysterious and vengeful Red Queen...

Alice was one of my favorite reads last year, a re-imagined and original take on Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland. So, of course, I couldn't wait to return to this wonderfully imaginative world. Henry takes reader back down the rabbit hole in the Red Queen, the second book in The Chronicles of Alice. Red Queen took place exactly where we left off in the last book following alongside Alice and Hatcher as they head east in search of Hatcher’s daughter, Jenny. The land beyond the city’s wall was a desolate wasteland but the two encountered a great many things; from New City’s aerial patrols, trolls, giants, to nasty enchantments, and stories of the terrifying White Queen, Black Knight and the Red Queen.

What I loved about Alice was the dark and gritty atmosphere and how well I can visualize ‘Alice’ being a somewhat mirrored copy of the original classic, well, a fun-house mirror that is. While it was obvious that this was not the classic tale we've all come to know, it paid a beautiful homage to the original novel and at the same kept its uniqueness. For the most part I enjoyed Red Queen, but it didn’t feel like a continuation of the first book nor an ‘Alice in Wonderland’ re-imagined novel. Of all the new characters we met, no one was quite recognizable except for the Red Queen and her page time was sparse. There also wasn't as much action as the first book. From the moment Alice and Hatcher reached the forest/village, all they heard were horror stories of the White Queen and how she ruled with an iron fist and stole children from their families. However, the confrontation with the White Queen was somewhat anticlimactic and it resolved so quickly I wasn’t sure it happened.

The Red Queen wasn’t what I expected, nor dark or full of action as I hoped but I still found a lot to enjoy about it. Many reviewers didn’t like where Alice and Hatcher’s relationship was going but I didn’t find myself minding at all. I actually thought it was inevitable and expected it when I finished the first book. Alice and Hatcher complement each other. Its the type of relationship you'd call fate/destined because they know and the readers know they belong with each other. My only complaint is that I wished we saw more of them together, since for a little more than half of the time they were a part. As for the revelation at the end of the book, I was completely shocked! I didn’t think the story was going to go there but it did and I liked how everything connected together.

The Red Queen did a great job at tying up all the loose ends from the first book and the main problem at hand solved; but the ending left a door open for potentially more books in the series. Which I hope we get, since there is still so much to discover from the world, Alice and Hatcher. I highly recommend checking out this fresh and original series, this is a re-imagining of Alice that you don’t want to miss!



 




Thanks to the lovely people at Ace, I have one (1) copy of ALICE, the first book in The Chronicle of Alice series to give away. To enter, please fill out the Rafflecopter below!

US ONLY.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, July 15, 2016

Kaitlin's Tale by Christine Amsden

Title: Kaitlin's Tale
Author: Christine Amsden
Genre: Urban Fantasy 
Series: N/A

Trade Paperback, 270 Pages
Publication: July 15, 2016  by Twilight Times

Source: I received a review copy from the author in exchange for a honest review.

Buy|Amazon|B&N|
Kaitlin Mayer is on the run from the father of her baby – a vampire who wants her to join him in deadly eternity. Terrified for her young son, she seeks sanctuary with the hunters guild. Yet they have their own plans for her son, and her hopes of safety are soon shattered.

When she runs into Matthew Blair, an old nemesis with an agenda of his own, she dares to hope for a new escape. But Matthew is a telepath, and Kaitlin’s past is full of dark secrets she never intended to reveal.

Kaitlin’s Tale is a standalone novel, but is set in Cassie Scot’s world, series by the same name by Christine Amsden. I am a big fan of the Cassie Scot novels and the first spin off novel, featuring Cassie’s best friend, Madison’s Song. It is no surprise that I ended up loving Kaitlin’s Tale, another of Cassie’s best friend just as much. What’s funny though is I don’t normally read spin off novels. And on the off chance that I do, I rarely enjoy it, don’t finish it or don’t continue with the subsequent books. However, Amsden’s spin-off novel had the opposite effect on me. I not only enjoyed the story/plot but I loved being back in Cassie’s world and seeing all the familiar characters and learning more about them.

I honestly didn’t know what to expect in Kaitlin’s book. I didn’t have much of an opinion of her when she was a secondary character. At the beginning of the story she was a depressed, self-deprecating scared new mother, a prisoner of the world’s most powerful vampire and a human no less. Basically the lowest on the chain in the world full of vampires, werewolves and wizards. But as the book progressed, Kaitlin learned to stand-up for herself, took risks and most importantly learned self worth and that she deserved happiness just like everyone else. She was a force to be reckoned with and the most powerful players started to feared her and see her as a threat. That is one of the reason why I love Amsden novels. The female main characters are pictured/assumed weak, but in reality, they are the strongest one. Kaitlin a human may not be born a wizard, changed into a werewolf or the walking undead and yet she was able to out power and outsmart all of them! On the romance part, which I don’t want to spoil by saying too much; but for some reason I thought Kaitlin and Jason were going to try working things out…but I’m not complaining about Kaitlin’s other love interest. That was a pleasant surprise.

Bottom line, I loved Kaitlin’s Tale much more than I expected and thought it was a great spin-off novel and addition to Cassie Scot’s world. I don’t say this often, or ever, but I hope we get more Spin-off novels! Or better yet, create a series from either Madison or Kaitlin…combination of both?! After how this book ended, I am dying to know what happens next and if they’re (can’t name names lol) planning to go forward with the unification! And Jay! That kid is a wonderful enigma and I want to see more of him too. I highly recommend Kaitin's Tale to all Urban Fantasy fans. Yes, there are vampire, werewolves...the usual variety but Amsden's writing and storytelling will keep you glued but it's the characters that make you want to stay and continue along on their journey. I suggest starting at the beginning with the Cassie Scot novels; there's a lot of background/history and would make it easier to understand and follow along. These books and Kaitlin's Tale is a must read!





Wednesday, July 13, 2016

[Blog Tour] Guest Post + Giveaway of Elysium Chronicles by J.A. Souders


I'd like to welcome J.A. Souders, author of the Elysium Chronicles to Short & Sweet Reviews Blog! On today's Rebellion tour stop Jessica will be sharing her thoughts on the conclusiont of her trilogy. Don't forget to check out the giveaway at the end of the post!





Hardcover, 336 pages
Publication July 12, 2016 by Tor Teen
Buy|Amazon|B&N|
Back in Elysium at last, Evie has finally found her true self hidden under layers and layers of false memories implanted by the woman she knew as Mother. Thanks to the intervention of her father, she knows the horrible truth about Mother and her insidious plans for her city. With the help of the love of her life, Gavin, and her best friend, Asher St. James, she’s determined to free her people from the cruel dictatorship of Mother’s laws. But how do you free people who don’t know they need rescuing?

Working with the growing Underground rebellion, Evie tries to remove Mother from her position by force—with disastrous results. As the body count rises, Evie must find a way to save Elysium before Mother destroys them all.



SAYING FAREWELL

Hi everyone and thank you Short and Sweet Reviews for hosting me here!

I thought about this post for a long time, before I could decide what to write about today, and I decided to talk about the elephant in the room (or at least in MY room. :P) so to speak. The end of the series.

In case you didn’t know, Rebellion is the third and final book in the Elysium Chronicles. Bittersweet to me, to be sure. I love this series and the characters, and I especially love this world. I tossed around the idea of writing more in the world itself, with a different story, and different cast of characters, but it’s time (for now) to move on. And I’m excited to start the other books that have been impatiently swimming around in my brain.

Writing the end of a series, any series I’m sure, but specifically a SF one, is both the hardest and easiest thing I’ve ever written. I already know the characters. I know how they act, how they speak, what their fears and goals and motivations are. During the course of the series I got to see how much they’ve changed from the people they were in the beginning. I know the world and its idiosyncrasies. From tech that makes the city possible, to the both small and big things that can make it fail.  So instead of worrying about researching things, I could focus on writing its story.

But it was the hardest too; partially because I knew I’d be saying good-bye at the end of it. And partially because there were so many loose ends I had to tie up from all three books. Little things I wrote in Renegade and Revelations had suddenly become super important in Rebellion. The Evie whose life was “just about perfect” at the beginning of the series, had seen and done so much during the course of the series, she’d had no choice but to change. She’s a completely different character than she was in the beginning. And everyone who knew her (us, too), has to adjust to her as well. Including Mother who, of course, still has a few tricks up her sleeve.

So…all that to say, this is the end of the Elysium Chronicles (for now) and true to the stories before it, anything can happen in Rebellion. So keep an open mind and remember nothing can start without there first being an end.

And now, I’m sure you have questions. I probably have the answers. Fire away, but don’t forget to include spoiler warnings!




Thanks to the wonderful people at Tor, I have a complete set of the ELYSIUM CHRONICLES to give away to a lucky reader! To enter, please fill out the Rafflecopter below! 

US/CA Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Check out the other awesome blog hosts! 

Blog Tour Schedule


July 11 – Chapter by Chapter


July 13 – Short & Sweet Reviews

July 14 – Gizmo’s Reviews








ABOUT THE AUTHOR
J.A. Souders was born in the heartland with an overactive imagination and an over abundance of curiosity that was always getting her into trouble. 

Because she never grew up, she decided she’d put her imaginary friends to work and started writing. She now lives in the land of sunshine and palm trees with her husband and their two children and is an active member of the RWA, SFWA, YARWA and SCBWI. 

Tuesday, July 05, 2016

False Hearts by Laura Lam

Title: False Hearts
Author: Laura Lam
Genre: Science Fiction Thriller
Series: False Hearts #1

Hardcover, 384 pages
Publication: June 14, 2016 by Tor Books

Source: I received a review copy from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.

Buy|Amazon|B&N|
Raised in the closed cult of Mana’s Hearth and denied access to modern technology, conjoined sisters Taema and Tila dream of a life beyond the walls of the compound. When the heart they share begins to fail, the twins escape to San Francisco, where they are surgically separated and given new artificial hearts. From then on they pursue lives beyond anything they could have previously imagined.

Ten years later, Tila returns one night to the twins’ home in the city, terrified and covered in blood, just before the police arrive and arrest her for murder—the first homicide by a civilian in decades. Tila is suspected of involvement with the Ratel, a powerful crime syndicate that deals in the flow of Zeal, a drug that allows violent minds to enact their darkest desires in a terrifying dreamscape. Taema is given a proposition: go undercover as her sister and perhaps save her twin’s life. But during her investigation Taema discovers disturbing links between the twins’ past and their present. Once unable to keep anything from each other, the sisters now discover the true cost of secrets.


False Hearts is a Science Fiction Thriller and the first book in a brand new series by Lam. What initially caught my attention was the comparison to Orphan Black and Inception. I am a huge fan of the show, so I thought any comparison must be good. What I didn’t expect was to be blown away. It went beyond my wildest expectations. Lam’s depiction of a futuristic San Francisco was not only plausible and fascinating but also incredibly scary. I’ve read plenty of great books this year. And just as I thought I’ve finally read the best book so far and that nothing can top the last book; something comes along and proves me wrong. And that book is False Hearts. False Hearts is hands-down the best Sci-Fi book I’ve read in a long, long time and basically blows all the recent books I just read out of the water. Nothing could compare.

The story follow sisters, Tila and Taema, formally conjoined twin but separated at the age of sixteen. That in and of itself was enough to pique my curiosity but then Lam adds in former cult members, the drug cartel distributing drugs that enables the user to enact their deepest, darkest fantasies, tech that monitored everything you do, to flesh parlors that changes identities/appearance and you’ve got a whopper of the book. That was just the tip of the iceberg to what a crazy brilliant book this was. 


Within the first few pages I was enthralled. The story was narrated by both sisters as we are taken back to Mana-ma’s Hearth to Taema’s undercover mission to infiltrate The Ratel (The last criminal organization of SF) to help save her sister from being placed in stasis (frozen); which was the equivalent to a death sentence. As with most novels set in the future, the gadgets and terminology could get overwhelming or confusing at times. However, that was never the case here. The book was set in the year 2055 but Lam did a stellar job at breaking down and explaining in detail the technology, the drugs Zeal and Verve and the lucid dreaming aspects in such a straightforward manner that it was easy to understand and digest. I was never once confused and the more I delved deeper into the world Lam created, the more I wanted to be swept away into the story to escape reality. Even though half the time I found 2055 SF terrifying, I couldn’t flip the pages fast enough!

While Tila and Taema are twins, they couldn't be more opposite of one another. Tila was more of a risk taker, she wasn't afraid of asking questions or breaking rules. While Taema tried to blend in with society and was a stickler for following principles. Even their profession were totally different with Tila working in the zeal/verge lounges and Taema working for a Sudice Corporation. While we get both of the sisters' point-of-view, this novel was really about Taema going out of her comfort zone and doing whatever it took to save someone she loves. What I liked most about Taema is while she was undercover and had to pretend to be someone else and do things she didn't want to do she was still in a way true to herself (that's make more sense once you read the book). Also, the actions she took didn't seem far fetch but realistic and mirrored our own world. Which is kind of hard to do in scifi/fantasy worlds in my opinion; to me that's important, to make this fictitious world and its characters believable. 

I loved False Hearts and it was everything I didn't know I wanted. If you’re looking for an original, high-octane, edge of your seat novel with so many twists and turns that it will leave you speechless then you need to pick up False Hearts immediately. I am flabbergasted that I haven’t heard more about this book prior to its publication or seeing more reviews for it among the blogoshere because there’s a lot to love about False Hearts. This book was clever and exceptional, and as Taema pieces the clues together the revelations will blow your mind! This is my first book by Lam but it will definitely not be my last. Again, you guys need to read it A.S.A.P; you won’t regret it. I promise. It is a must read and deserve to be on the keeper shelf! 



Thursday, June 23, 2016

All Fixed Up by Linda Grimes

Title: All Fixed Up
Author: Linda Grimes
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Series: Ciel Halligan #4

Hardcover, 336 pages
Publication: May 24, 2016 by Tor Books

Source: I received a review copy from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.

Buy|Amazon|B&N|


Ciel Halligan, aura adaptor extraordinaire, has a lot of experience filling in for her clients--as them. A rare genetic quirk gives her the ability to absorb human energy and project it back out in a flawless imitation. She's hard at work, posing as a well-known and celebrated astronaut, about to make a stunning announcement on behalf of the space program...when the photographer documenting the job sees right through her aura. Worse, it soon becomes apparent that he not only knows Ciel’s not who she's supposed to be, but means her harm.

When Ciel's elderly Aunt Helen—also an aura adaptor—is murdered in Central Park, and the same photographer shows up at the funeral, Ciel starts to feel even more exposed. Then more adaptors are killed in the same way, and she becomes terrified her friends and family are being systematically exterminated ... and it's starting to look like she's the ultimate target. She turns to Billy Doyle, her best-friend-turned-boyfriend, for help, but when an unexpected crisis causes him to take off without a word, she's left to rely on her not-so-former crush, CIA agent Mark Fielding.
It is always a joy to read the Ciel Halligan series, Aura Adapter extraordinaire. And All Fixed Up is no difference. Ciel’s latest gig finds her portraying the first astronaut to give birth in space! The astronaut in question is suffering from kidney stones, so it’s up to Ciel to entertain and answer the press with their many questions on pregnancy and space. But if anyone has read this series, they’d know that Ciel’s life is anything but ordinary. First day on the job and someone is already trying to kidnap her or her client. One again Ciel finds herself smack-dab in the middle of a sticky situation but it goes from bad to worse when said kidnapper starts showing up around her family and friends in the adaptors community and people end up dead.

As I’ve mentioned before, two things you can always expect from Ciel and the gang is action and laughs. And there is no shortage of either! My favorite parts of the book were with the Billy and the family. There’s never a dull moment when the family around. They made the most mundane of situation or task comedic. A particular scene comes to mind that involved James, Devon and Ciel…but I can’t say what without giving any spoilers out. And Billy, he’s always such a charmer and a goofball with his endless mischief and innuendos. While I enjoy all of books in the series, I must say this is my favorite. I think it’s because the book focused a lot more on family and relationships versus whatever problem Ciel found herself in. It wasn’t as fantastical as her previous endeavors. Plus the problem at hand was more closely connected to the adapter community.

My only quibble would be the love triangle that wasn’t. I know that sentence doesn’t make a whole lot of sense. Ciel is definitely with Billy but the whole ‘what-if’ she had about Mark constantly pops up. Ciel kept asking herself what if she was with Mark? Would her life turned out differently? Honestly. I found it quite vexing. I thought Ciel made her choice at the end of the last book. If that wasn’t enough, she did something in my eyes as unforgivable and this time she was fully aware of her action. Why the author added it, I have no idea. It made me like Ciel a little less and lose respect for her. 
I didn’t think it served a purpose this time around and in my opinion just made me as a reader frustrated. The book ended on a happy note for the most part and I am still rooting for Billy and Ciel. I just hope she makes a permanent decision and doesn’t jump back and forth in the next book.

All in all, despite the last tidbit I mentioned, All Fixed Up still turned out to be a great addition to this fun series. It is always exciting to be immersed in the adapter world and follow along with the characters on their escapade. If you haven’t read this series yet, then you really need to check it out A.S.A.P. This series is the perfect blend of humor and fantasy and best of all…you never know what to expect from Ciel Halligan, every book is a surprise and treat.




Tuesday, June 21, 2016

[Early Review]: A Hundred Thousand Worlds by Bob Proehl

Title: A Hundred Thousand Worlds
Author: Bob Proehl
Genre: Fiction, Young Adult
Series: N/A

Hardcover, 368 Pages
Publication: June 28, 2016 by Vikings

Source: I received a review copy (arc) from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.

Pre-Order|Amazon|B&N|
Valerie Torrey took her son Alex and fled Los Angeles six years ago—leaving both her role on a cult sci-fi TV show and her costar husband after a tragedy blew their small family apart. Now Val must reunite nine-year-old Alex with his estranged father, so they set out on a road trip from New York, Val making appearances at comic book conventions along the way.

As they travel west, encountering superheroes, monsters, time travelers, and robots, Val and Alex are drawn into the orbit of the comic-con regulars, from a hapless twenty something illustrator to a lesbian comics writer to a group of cosplay women who provide a chorus of knowing commentary. For Alex, this world is a magical place where fiction becomes reality, but as they get closer to their destination, he begins to realize that the story his mother is telling him about their journey might have a very different ending than he imagined.

I’ve read many books in my lifetime; I mean I am a reviewer (snorts). I may not have read quite as many books as I wanted or as much as my fellow reviewers/bloggers. However, I can say there are very few books that made a long-lasting impression, ones that made you contemplate life, self reflect and think about what’s truly important. A Hundred Thousand Worlds is amongst the few. I can relate to what it’s like being a nerd/geek (with pride), and had the pleasure to attend a comic convention twice…so I am a little bit familiar with the world. But A Hundred Thousand Worlds was so much more than the comic-con world, fandom, and the comic/tv/movie industry. It’s a story of family, friendship, and how stories and the people around us shape who we are and how we escape the real world through stories we tell.

Within the first page I was captivated by Alex and his mother Val. Val is a TV actress turned theater artist and is slowly returning to the tv/comic circuit after being M.I.A for years. Readers follow Val and her nine-year-old son Alex, as they travel cross country from New York to California, stopping along the way at various comic book conventions. I’ve said this many times, but it’s true, I’m a sucker when it comes to family stuff. I loved the mother-son relationship; it’s touching, realistic and heartwarming. While I enjoyed all the con stuff, their relationship was the highlight of the book for me. I also really enjoyed all the secondary and tertiary characters. Brett and the con ladies are at the forefront. I thought they were all very well developed and realized. Most side, background characters I've read aren’t as detailed or well written resulting in forgettable one-dimensional characters but Proehl’s characters were the complete opposite. He did a wonderful job at creating distinct and unique characters. And I enjoyed reading about each and every one of them.

A Hundred Thousand Worlds is equal parts imaginative, smart, fun and full of heart. I’ve read a handful of great novels so far this year, but I must say that A Hundred Thousand Worlds has climb the ranks to be one of my top reads. I loved the story, the characters and the writing was impeccable. This is Proehl’s debut novel, but if this is anything to go by, I can’t wait to see what’s to come. Proehl is definitely a writer to watch! I highly recommend A Hundred Thousand Worlds to everyone. A Hundred Thousand Worlds is not only for comic con fans…this is a novel that goes beyond its targeted audience; it is a novel for the every reader, young and old.








ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Bob Proehl grew up in Buffalo, New York, where his local comics shop was Queen City Bookstore. He has worked as a bookseller and programming director for Buffalo Street Books, a DJ, a record store owner, and a bartender. He was a 2012 New York Foundation for the Arts Fellow in Fiction and a 2013 resident at the Saltonstall Arts Colony. He has written for the 33⅓ book series and worked as a columnist and reviewer for the arts and culture site PopMatters.com. Proehl currently lives in Ithaca, New York, with his family. 

Connect with Bob! Twitter|Website|Goodreads|