Sunday, July 31, 2011

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox (3)

First off, In My Mailbox is a feature that was started over at The Story Siren. Where we share what books we receive in the mail each week.

Shadowflame by Dianne Sylvan
Supernaturally by Kiersten White
Wolfsbane by Andrea Cremer

Saturday, July 30, 2011

New blog Giveaway Winners

Thank you for everyone that entered!

The winners are:

Megan @ Riverina Romantics

I will be sending out an email shortly please reply within 2 days, or if you would like you can email your snail maill to


Thursday, July 28, 2011

Author Signing in Oceanside, Ca

I was so excited when I heard that Kiersten White, Andrea Cremer and Stephanie Perkins were doing a signing in Southern California. All three authors were in town (except Kiersten, she lives in the area) for this year's comic con and since both Kiersten and Andrea shared the same book release date they had a joint signing at Barnes and Noble in Oceanside,Ca.

A week before the book signing, the store was already taking reservation for number wristbands! I called in and placed my reservation on the day they started taking numbers for wristband...I ended up being number 58! My younger sister and I drove from Los Angeles to Oceanside for the event and it took us almost 2 hours to get there. We got there around 3pm but the event didn't start till 6pm. We ended up grabbing lunch and waited with all the other readers.

The Barnes and Noble in which the event was at was pretty disorganized and wasn't doing a great job at letting the readers/fan know how the event was gonna be. I thought we were gonna have seats but it turned out to be a standing event. Me, being 4'9 really sucked having all the tall people run and crowded in front of me (especially when I was already near the front of the table (sigh).

The authors finally arrived a little after 6pm, introducing themselves and their novels. From there each author took turns reading their favorite scene from their new book. Kiersten, started out the Q&A with asking the audience who re-read their book the most, one girl said she read Paranormalcy (5 times), Nightshade (7 times) and Anna and the French Kiss (10+ times). The second question was which reader travel (in distance) the farthest to get here, one reader came all the way from New York (crazyy huh?). And the final question was picking a random number amongst the wristband numbers, (#26).  All readers who read the most, traveled the farthest and the random number wristband all won chocolates from Kiersten.

Kiersten White, Me, and Andrea Cremer
All three authors were so nice and I loved their stories about how they got their book published. I got all my books signed by Andrea and Kiersten :). I haven't read them yet but will be starting them soon, and when I do I will have my reviews posted.

Wednesday, July 27, 2011

WoW: Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly post started by Breaking the Spine, to show books that we are patiently waiting for. 

Blurb: Fledging guardian angel and yoga teacher Serena St. Clair dares enter Devil's Paradise nightclub on a mission—to retrieve the wayward Hollywood "It Boy" she's assigned to protect. But she's ambushed by the club's owner, arch demon Julian Ascher. The most powerful demonic entity in Los Angeles, Julian is handsome as sin, a master of temptation who loves nothing more than corrupting pleasure–seeking humans. He won't release the lost soul Serena is supposed to guard. Unless she accepts his dangerous wager…
After the disastrous way his human life ended, Julian vowed that no woman would get the better of him again. Yet this sexy–sweet angel, smelling of fresh ocean air and happiness, triggers centuries–old feelings. Now, their high–stakes game of seduction, where angels fall from grace and where demons fear to tread, will lead them either to an eternity in hell.or a deliciously hot heaven.

Release date: August 23, 2011 
Mass Market Paperback, 368 pages

On one side, the Night World, rules by the Blood Lords and the Beast Kind. On the other, the elusive Fae and the humans, protected by their steadfast mages...
Born a wraith, Lily is a shadow who slips between worlds. Brought up by a Blood Lord and raised to be his assassin, she is little more than a slave. But when Lily meets her match in target Simon DuCaine, the unlikely bond that develops between them threatens to disrupt an already stretched peace in a city on the verge of being torn apart...

Release date: September 6, 2011
Mass Market paperback, 336 pages

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

New Release Tuesday: July 26, 2011

New Release Tuesday: July 26, 2011

Touch of Frost by Jennifer Estep
Supernatrually by Kiersten White
Sins of the Flesh by J.C. Wilder
My Fair Highlander by Mary Wine 

Black Night byChristina Henry
Wildefire by Karsten Knight
The Fire King by Marjoire M. Liu
Heroes at Odds by Moira J. Moore
Eye of the Tempest by Nicole Peeler
The Lost by Caridad Pineiro
Shadowflame by Dianne Sylvan

Spellbound byKelley Armstrong
Ghost Story by Jim Butcher
Rush of Pleasure by Rhyannon Byrd
Wolfsbane by Andrea Cremer
Dead Alert by Bianca D'Arc
Touch of Frost by Jennifer Estep 

Seduce Me in Flames by Jacquelyn Frank
Bound By Moonlight by Nancy Gideon
Shadow Fall by Seressia Glass
Hard Spell by Justin Gustainis

Monday, July 25, 2011

Authors signing in So Cal!

Authors: KierstenWhite (Paranormalcy & Supernaturally)
       Andrea Cremer (Nightshade & Wolfsbane)
Stephanie Perkins (Anna and the French Kiss)

   Location: Barnes and Noble in Oceanside, Ca
at 6:00 p.m. on July 26.

Sunday, July 24, 2011

Review: Geist by Philippa Ballantine

Title & Author: Geist by Philippa Ballantine
Series & Genre: Fantasy, Book of the order #1
Published on October 26, 2010 by Penguin group
Mass market paperback, 304 pages

Where did I get this book: Bought

Blurb: Between the living and the dead is the Order of the Deacons, protectors of the Empire, guardians against possession, sentinels enlisted to ward off the malevolent haunting of the geists...

Among the most powerful of the Order is Sorcha, now thrust into partnership with the novice Deacon, Merrick Chambers. They have been dispatched to the isolated village of Ulrich to aide the Priory with a surge of violent geist activity. With them is Raed Rossin, Pretender to the throne that Sorcha is sworn to protect, and bearer of a terrible curse.

But what greets them in the strange settlement is something far more predatory and more horrifying than any mere haunting. And as she uncovers a tradition of twisted rituals passed down through the dark reaches of history, Sorcha will be forced to reconsider everything she thinks she knows.

And if she makes it out of Ulrich alive, what in Hell is she returning to?

Review: The book kinda started out slow, with Deacon Sorcha and her husband battling a unknown Geist. In the world that Ms. Ballantine has created there are a group of guardians that defends the people from geists (spirits) each guardian is bonded/paired with one an active and a sensitive. (This set up reminds me of Moria J. Moore's Heroes series). There were a couple of slow and unnecessary scene here and there throughout the book, but it was still able to hold my attention till the end. Sorcha's character is different from any heroine that I have ever read. To some her attitude and demeanor might be a turn off. Raed's character was much more likeable, even though he's a wanted pirate...and an honest one at that! 

Overall the book was good, with some flaws but still interesting enough for me to continue on with the next book, Spectyr. There were two small problems I had with the book which was the pacing and Sorcha's infidelity. I know she's in a loveless marriage but really there's still no excuse. I hope this problem is solved in the next book with a divorce at least. 

Rating: ★★★

Other books in the series:
Book of the Order #2

Saturday, July 23, 2011

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox (2)

First off, In My Mailbox is a feature that was started over at The Story Siren. Where we share what books we receive in the mail each week.

Bought (new):                                                        
Hard Bitten by Chloe Neill
Never Cry Wolf by Cynthia Eden
Touch of Frost by Jennifer Estep

Bought (used):Hunted by the others by Jess Haines
Taken by the others by Jess Haines
Outcast 1-3 by Rachel Caine
Weather Warden 1-9 by Rachel Caine

Friday, July 22, 2011

New blog Giveaway

To celebrate my new blog, I decided to have a giveaway!

Up for grabs are:

A Werewolf in Manhanttan by Vicki Lewis Thompson
Highborn by Yvonne Navarro
Radiant Shadows by Melissa Marr

There will be 3 winners, one book per winner.

Giveaway rules:
1) U.S. residents only
2) Must be a follower 
3) Leave a comment here, telling me what's the best book you read so far this year and an email address so that I can contact you.

Extra Entry: Follow me on twitter, or facebook (1 extra point each), vote in the heroine poll on the left hand side

Giveaway ends Friday 7/29, winner will be announced on Saturday 7/30
Winners will be chosen with

Thursday, July 21, 2011

Review: Dark Descendant by Jenna Black

Title & Author: Dark Descendant by Jenna Black
Series & Genre: 1st book in a new Urban Fantasy Series

Published on April 26, 2011 by Pocket
Mass market paperback, 336 pages

Where did I get this book: Bought

Blurb: Nikki Glass can track down any man. But when her latest client turns out to be a true descendant of Hades, Nikki now discovers she can’t die. . . . Crazy as it sounds, Nikki’s manhunting skills are literally god-given. She’s a living, breathing descendant of Artemis who has stepped right into a trap set by the children of the gods. Nikki’s new “friends” include a descendant of Eros, who uses sex as a weapon; a descendant of Loki, whose tricks are no laughing matter; and a half-mad descendant of Kali who thinks she’s a spy. But most powerful of all are the Olympians, a rival clan of immortals seeking to destroy all Descendants who refuse to bow down to them. In the eternal battle of good god/bad god, Nikki would make a divine weapon. But if they think she’ll surrender without a fight, the gods must be crazy. . . .

Nikki Glass is a P.I. who just discovered that she's a descendant of the Greek goddess Artemis. There aren't many descendants of Artemis, therefore making her a rare commodity. The story focus on two groups the Liberi and Olympian. They both want to use Nikki to find other descendant like herself. But Konstantin (the Olympian leader) wants Nikki to find them, so he can kill them. The story progressed quickly, jumping right into action within the first two chapters. I love Mrs. Black's infused Greek mythology with urban fantasy, it's something fresh in the sea of vampires, shifter and faeries novels in today's market.

Nikki and her sister Steph are two great heroine who aren't afraid to speak their mind. All the other secondary characters, and the world building are very interesting. I love the "could be" potential between Jamaal and Nikki near the end of the book, I'm looking forward to see more of how their relationship will progress in the next book. This is a great start to a new urban fantasy, highly recommended to all other urban fantasy fans.

Rating: ★★★

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

WoW: Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly post started by Breaking the Spine, to show books that we are patiently waiting for.

Synopsis: Fallen angels in the form of vampires are infecting humans one by one, creating an army fit for Armageddon. Jesse Burke, driven by vengeance to destroy the vampiric angels, has been protecting New Orleans from the onslaught, unaware that she has a much greater destiny awaiting her in the face of the oncoming apocalypse...

Release date: August 2, 2011
Mass market paperback, 384 pages

Synopsis: A skilled knife fighter since the age of nine, Chalice knows what it’s like to live life on the edge—precariously balanced between the dark and the light. But the time has come to choose. The evil sorcerer who kidnapped her over a decade ago requires her superhuman senses to steal a precious magical artifact…or she must suffer the consequences.

Desperate to break the curse that enslaves her, Chalice agrees. But it is only with the help of Aydin— her noble warrior-protector—that she will risk venturing beyond the veil to discover the origins of her power. Only for him will she dare to fully embrace her awesome talents. For a deadly duel is at hand, and Chalice alone will have to decide between freedom…and the love of her life.

Release date: August 23, 2011 
Trade paperback, 384 pages

Saturday, July 16, 2011

In My Mailbox

In My Mailbox (1)

First off, In My Mailbox is a feature that was started over at The Story Siren. Where we share what we receive in the mail each week.

Texas Gothic by Rosemary Clement Moore
Viper Moon by Lee Roland

Feast by Merrie Destefano Merrie!! Merrie is also the author of Afterlife, which was released last year on Sept 28, 2010!

Friday, July 15, 2011

Movie review: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2

Directed by: David Yates
Starring: Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson and Rupert Grint

Release date: July 15, 2011
Runtime: 130 minutes

Summary (via
The final chapter begins as Harry, Ron, and Hermione continue their quest of finding and destroying the Dark Lord's three remaining Horcruxes, the magical items responsible for his immortality. But as the mystical Deathly Hallows are uncovered, and Voldemort finds out about their mission, the biggest battle begins and life as they know it will never be the same again.

So, I just returned home from watching Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2. As my sister and I walked into the theater this morning over an hour before it was to start, it was almost completely full! As the movie started the audience became silent right away and remained mostly so till the very end. The only noise that came from the audience throughout the whole entire film was when the bad guys were killed *laughs*. The audiences started to clap when you know who dies! The movie started right where the first one ended, with Lord Voldermort holding the Elder wand. The actions begins immediately in Gringortt's bank,where Harry, Hermione and Ron believes that one of the horcruxes is in Bellatrix Lestrange's vault.

The pacing of the film was perfect, the entire audience were on the edge of their seat from the start to the end. Every scene was full of suspense and you can literally feel the tension...I felt like I was sitting on pins and needles the whole time. Like the previous Potter films, this too had a dark-serious tone. There were a couple of small laughs/jokes thrown here and there throughout the film to make light of the character's dire situation. The action sequence and overall cinematography was absolutely beautiful and captivating. The final Harry Potter film is by far the best of the series. The director and entire cast did an amazing job in bringing us the final installment.

I can't believe it's been 10 years since we first saw Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone and that after all that time it's coming to an end. If you haven't seen the Harry Potter films, what are you waiting for?!! The last movie is a must see, you will not regret paying for this. Like everyone says "All good things come to an end", and this film is certainly going out with a bang.

Rating: ★★★★★

Review: Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

Title & Author: Nightshade by Andrea Cremer
Series & Genre: Nightshade #1, Paranormal YA
Published on October 19th 2010 by Philomel 
Hardcover, 452 pages

Where did I get this book: Bought

Calla Tor has always known her destiny: After graduating from the Mountain School, she'll be the mate of sexy alpha wolf Ren Laroche and fight with him, side by side, ruling their pack and guarding sacred sites for the Keepers. But when she violates her masters' laws by saving a beautiful human boy out for a hike, Calla begins to question her fate, her existence, and the very essence of the world she has known. By following her heart, she might lose everything- including her own life. Is forbidden love worth the ultimate sacrifice?

This is Andrea Cremer's debut novel, the first book in a planned trilogy. Nightshade is a different take on the werewolf mythology, but in the book the werewolves are known as "Guardians". The story main focus are on two groups of guardians, the Nightshades and the Banes. Calla is the female alpha of her pack (the Nightshades) and Ren, the alpha of  his pack (the Banes). When they both come of age, they will mate and form a new pack. The story starts out with the reader learning more about the packs and their upcoming union that's suppose to take place on their 18th birthday. Days before Calla's union to Ren she encounter a human, Shay who is attacked by a grizzly bear. Calla saves Shay from the bear, but in doing so breaks the rules by shifting in front of him. From here on out, Calla's world is forever changed and everything she thought she knew turns out to be a lie.

Werewolves are one of my favorite supernatural creatures, so I was really excited when I first heard about this book. The book pulls you in from the first sentence and keeps you turning the pages till the very end. There was never a dull moment! I love the world building and all the characters. The main heroine Calla is likable and both male leads really stick out in their own way. I can't wait to read Wolfsbane, which comes out this month on July 26, 2011! 

Highly recommended to all Paranormal, UF, YA fans. 

side note: I really love this cover, don't you? I was sad to learn that the publishing company changed the covers for the entire series. :/ 

Rating: ★★★★